unMonday: shooting square

I recently upgraded my phone to the iPhone 6 Plus. The increased screen size is awesome for photos, and has actually made square photographs more attractive to me. It feels a bit strange to crop a photo down to a square, especially after my project 365 where I tried as much as possible to stick with a uniform 2:3 ratio for all photos. So, for my photo adventure over Thanksgiving break, I switched to shooting square photos. Composing a square image was a bit disorienting at first, but after a while my mind started to adjust. I enjoyed the restricted perspective… it brought out a creativity that I hadn’t felt when shooting photos for a while. This inspired me to really dive back into photography! I actually pulled out the old film camera and shot a couple of rolls over the weekend. It will be a while before I get those developed though. For now, here are some of those iPhone photos – all processed with VSCOcam.
IMG_6556

IMG_6565

IMG_6569

IMG_6558

IMG_6562

IMG_6559

3 comments

  1. Beautiful photos.

    How much of it is the new IPhone 6 camera, or the app you use?

    • Thank you! It really is a combination of both. I’ve had the phone for a couple of weeks, and it hasn’t disappointed me yet. Then, I usually just apply one of the film presets that VSCOcam has with perhaps a touch more grain or some shadows brought up – and that’s it. I don’t do a ton of editing :)

  2. So good! I think you’re onto something with the square pics…

We love comments!

