unMonday: Bozeman Stampede

This weekend was the Bozeman Stampede, and I took the Canon down to try and capture some good rodeo photos. I didn’t feel like lugging more than one lens, so I decided on the 85mm f/1.8. It worked really well! It had been about 12 years since I’d gone to a rodeo (yes, I feel old) and I had such a good time taking photos and hanging out with new friends!

  • Canon 5D MarkIII
  • Canon 85mm f/1.8 lens
  • VSCO Film: Polaroid 690-

rodeoc-19

rodeoc-5

rodeoc-1

It’s been quite a while since I’ve photographed any kind of fast-paced motion. This was so fun to practice, and I love the effect of the dirt flying.

rodeoc-8

rodeoc-23

rodeoc-17

rodeoc-26

As the evening went on, I had to increase the ISO to 3200 and you can see a bit of noise as I cropped the bull photos in fairly tight. But, coupled with VSCO film, I feel like it’s an excusable grain. The black and white shot was especially noisy as it was one of the last bulls and shot at ISO 5000. The lighting and dust flying makes it one of my favorites though, and making it black and white allows the moment captured to stand up to the limitations of the digital image.

rodeoc-34

rodeoc-38

If you’d like to see more, check out the whole album on Flickr!

3 comments

  1. I remember Bozeman from The Big Bang Theory!

  2. You did such a fantastic job with these! My fav post of the year! :)

We love comments!

