washington wednesday: natural history museum

Natural History Museums became familiar to almost everyone with the release of the Night at the Museum movie(s). I’ll admit, that’s what crossed my mind as I made my way through the metal detectors and saw the large elephant display in the center of the rotunda. As someone who enjoys visiting museums and learning about history, I’ve always enjoyed the dinosaur and deep-sea exhibits these places contain. The National Museum of Natural History in Washington DC didn’t disappoint on these counts, and contained many other cool exhibits. I think beyond the dinosaur and ocean creature sections, the outer space displays were the most interesting. I couldn’t believe the crazy patterns found in the metal of meteorites!

So, starting with the cross-section of a meteorite, here are some of my favorite things found at the Museum.

  • Fuji X100S
  • VSCO Film 03 – Fuji FP 100c

nathistory-25

nathistory-26moon rock

nathistory-18This skull is about 3 feet tall.

nathistory-10

nathistory-11giant squid

nathistory-6

nathistory-5

nathistory-3

nathistory-2

nathistory-8

We love comments!

