washington wednesday: 1st day on the streets of DC

I arrived into DC around 1pm, and had the rest of the day to myself as my friend would be meeting me in the city later that night. After a quick metro ride, my bags were in my hotel room and I was out on streets, making my way to Pennsylvania Avenue. I wanted to get a glimpse of the Capitol building before it got dark. Our hotel was in a great location, and the National Mall was within walking distance.

The FBI building was practically around the corner, and the National Archives (second photo below) was only about 5 minutes away. I brought the Fuji X100S out to explore, and started snapping away. It took a little bit for me to get comfortable with quickly changing the settings on the camera – shooting at a faster pace. But, once I found my groove, I loved using this little camera on my adventure. It even helped me meet a few people! The unique look and compact size seems to draw smiles out of strangers passing by, and questions from photo enthusiasts about whether or not it really is as great as they say it is. In my opinion, yes. It really is a great little camera. Especially for traveling.

Here are some of my favorite photos from that first day. It was a dreary weather day, but that didn’t dampen my spirits. There’s something about walking streets filled with so much history (and history in the making)… in my mind, it can’t be beat.

  • Camera: Fuji X100S
  • VSCO Film: Fuji Velvia 100F

dc_day1-8

dc_day1-10

dc_day1-18

dc_day1-22

dc_day1-17This view was my first shot of the Capitol Building, and is down Pennsylvania Ave. Here’s a fun fact I learned about another street here: Constitution Ave used to be a canal. Where trash and dead animals floated down out of the city. Can you imagine that? Right through the heart of the Nation’s Capitol. No wonder it didn’t have a great reputation as a place for our leader to live for some years.

We love comments!

