unMonday: x100s at gas works park

I’m still trying to get the hang of shooting with the Fujifilm X100S, so I’ve been taking as many opportunities as possible to put it through its paces. I’ve been shooting around a lot of familiar locations to see how the X100S functions and captures images differently than my Canon DSLR and my Nikon film SLR.

Last week, I took the X100S to Gas Works Park to photograph some of Seattle’s iconic scenery. I found that shooting with the Fuji’s slightly shorter 35 mm (equivalent) lens instead of my usual 50mm Canon lens hasn’t made that much of a difference in composing my shots. But the manual focus, electronic viewfinder, and lightweight portability make for a drastically different – and uniquely enjoyable – shooting experience. I’ll go into greater depth on the X100S in a future post, but for now, let’s just leave it at: I really like this camera.

Despite the dismal dreariness of last week, there were a number of true Seattleites (like the stand-up paddle boarder in a dry suit) and a handful of determined tourists who brought some life to Gas Works Park. Even on rainy days, Gas Works can be a beautiful place to photograph and to just sit and enjoy view with all the rest of Seattle’s admirers.

These photos were processed with VSCO Film 04, using Fuji Provia 400X, in Lightroom 4.

We love comments!

