unMonday: holga lens

Gardiner, Montana is a little town at one of the entrances to Yellowstone National Park. You can see my photos of the beautiful drive down Paradise Valley to this town here. Once we reached Gardiner though, the weather turned nasty as the wind picked up and snow started to fall. But, that almost added to my motivation to use the new Holga lens I’d received for Christmas. If you’re interested in checking this little plastic lens out, you can find it on photojojo. It’s so small, it looks a bit silly on the giant dSLR body. The focus is primitive and you need a lot of light to get a good image, but it’s a lot of fun to be able to shoot this way with a camera I already own. The photos have that old-toy-camera feel that you expect with a plastic lens, and I’ll let them speak further for themselves. While I have used VSCO Film to add a consistent film effect to all photos, I did not add any vignette to these. What you see is the result of the lens.

  • Canon 5D Mark III
  • Holga plastic lens
  • VSCO Film

I don’t think they had football practice this day. :)

The photos above are from the back alleys of neighborhoods in the area… I went searching for the unique and rustic spots. If you would like to see some more, please check out my Flickr where you can see more. There are some little shops and a couple of cafés in Gardiner, but the town is not built up very much. It caters less to tourists than West Yellowstone, which has a pretty good array of restaurants and stores. I enjoy small-town Gardiner though; it’s a great day-trip.

 

 

We love comments!

