project 365: day 100

One hundred days ago, I picked up my camera and embarked on my own project 365 photo challenge (check it out here). I knew this would, at times, be a very difficult challenge to complete. With that in mind, I came up with this statement:

Since life is unpredictable, I can’t guarantee that I will be able to post a photo every day (I will try though), but I do think it’s realistic to take a photo every day. Especially with a camera phone in my pocket almost constantly.

This freedom to use my iPhone and allow myself to do the posting of a photo a day or two late if need be, has allowed me to stay on track. I’ll be honest, there are days I am just too lazy to go through taking out my memory card and downloading it to be able to post my daily photo. There are also days when I realize at 10pm that I still haven’t taken a photo, and I have to play with what’s around the house for my photo. And then there are the days when it’s 10pm, I haven’t taken a photo, and I’ve been asked to work the night shift so I’m tied to my desk… haha. Bet you can’t figure out which photo was taken then. :) Even this late-night scramble photo though, makes me happy. This past month has really been a struggle for me – to stay creative and continue pushing myself. But even with that struggle, I love looking back at my archive of photos. Each one reminds me of a particular moment in a particular day. This is a better “diary” than anything I’ve ever written. It also remind me of how hurried life can be…

Days can easily blur together; I’m usually slightly stressed and thinking of at least 3 things I need to be doing. Even if I’m doing nothing haha… This project has not only helped me in my photography, but just in my day-to-day life. Enjoying the present and taking a moment to breathe and consider if I would like to stop and take 2 minutes to get that photo – is slowing my daily-life pace. And you know what? Just as much is getting done – I’m just enjoying it more. Blah blah, enough of the philosophical waxing, this is a photography blog! Here are a few of my favorite photos from the past few months. These have all been processed with either VSCOcam or VSCO film. The camera used is listed below each photo.

Canon 5D MarkIII

Canon 5D MarkIII


iPhone 5

iPhone 5

Canon 5D MarkIII

Canon 5D MarkIII: in-camera double-exposure

Canon 5D MarkIII

Another element I’ve decided to add to this challenge, is taking a self-portrait at least every month. I’m not a fan of photos of myself, so we’ll see what I come up with… I got a wireless remote shutter release for Christmas, so this will hopefully be a fun way to get familiar with using it. I started my self-portraits off this month with a photo showing off my t-shirt from Sevenly that is in support of the American Cancer Society. “Nobody can do everything, but everyone can do something.” Such an excellent message. This one’s for my Mom, who beat Hodgkin’s Lymphoma twice. I can only hope to be as strong and smart a woman as she is.

We love comments!

