unMonday: frost flowers

I went on a short hike this weekend, up Middle Cottonwood Creek in the Bridger Mountain Range. It’s probably the last of the fall adventures I’ll get to do this year, as a winter storm is headed our way. But, before I start processing the majority of those fall-color photos, I thought I would share some cool frosty formations we came across. The frost hadn’t melted in areas that never saw sunlight, and fallen leaves were the platform for these frost/ice formations which we dubbed “frost flowers”. I have no idea if there is a real term for them. It was a bit difficult to capture, since most were in the shade. Here’s what I used for these photos:

  • Camera: Canon 5D MarkIII
  • Lens: 50mm f/1.4 & 16-35mm f/2.8
  • Processing: Lightroom 5 & VSCO Film Pack 01- Fuji 400H

We love comments!

