unMonday: fujifilm nostalgia

I keep coming back to the Fujifilm Neopan 400 black and white film, which has now firmly established itself as my all-around favorite film.  Something about its sharp clarity, smooth grain, balanced contrast, and low-light magic thrills me every time I take that first look at a freshly developed roll.  Neopan has this deeply nostalgic look that seems to trigger my feelings and memories much more powerfully than my other film and digital photos.  And if you know me, you know I’m all about nostalgia…

The Neopan photos in this post are from some of Seattle’s neighborhoods, a hiking trip in the Cascade Mountains, and a walk through Discovery Park.  I’ve been trying to take my time in composing photos with the Nikon FE, but even so, you can see in these photos that maintaining focus on the subject is pretty tricky with a manual-focus lens set to a very shallow depth of field.

If you compare these photos to the ones in Shera’s unMonday post this week, you’ll see just how close VSCO gets to the look and feel of real film.  In the coming weeks, I’ll be posting more film photos, followed by my own VSCO Film photos.  Stay tuned for a flood of travel photography!

Take your time with these…

We love comments!

