unMonday: 30 minutes in lower queen anne

While Shera posts photos from her travels around Europe, I’m going to continue posting photos from local Seattle neighborhoods to balance things out.  In a few weeks, I’ll be traveling to a lot of the places in Shera’s recent posts, so I thought I’d keep things local until I have a mountain of travel photos to share on the blog.

A few weeks ago, I took some street photos around Lower Queen Anne (AKA Uptown).  I had a very limited amount of time, but I wanted to take advantage of the good weather and the change of scenery to practice photography.  Lower Queen Anne is lively neighborhood and sort of a mixture of all of its neighboring districts – Queen Anne, Belltown, and South Lake Union.  With all of its bars, restaurants, and cafes, as well as the tourists brought in by the nearby Space Needle and Seattle Center, Lower Queen Anne is definitely an interesting place full of opportunities to practice street photography.

In a one-of-a-kind incident during my shoot, which involved nearly running into a woman carrying a cat on her shoulder, I was reminded that I should always have my camera near my eye while doing street photography.  I really wish I had that photo to share on this blog, but unfortunately you’re just going to have to imagine this scene for yourself.  Just pretend you see her in one of the photos below…

We love comments!

