unMonday: natchitoches on ektar

As I mentioned a few weeks ago, I finished up a roll of Kodak Ektar 100 film while I was in Natchitoches. My main focus that day had been shooting black and white with the Minolta, but I wanted to develop the roll of Ektar so I brought my Canon AT-1 along as well. I tried to be discerning with where I used color and where I used black and white, and I think these two indoor photos definitely benefit from their color. The mugs and low light create an immediate feel that matches the restaurant where they were located.

I love how the Ektar handles the light on the glass dessert stands. The grain of this film helps my 50mm f/1.8 lens show off its depth of field capabilities, too.

After reviewing all of my Natchitoches photos on film, I do think I prefer the black and white over the color. Black and white just seems to bring out a different perspective with its unbiased portrayal of a scene. The overcast day also lent itself to the black and white approach. These shots were good in color, but I found many more that I liked on the other roll. If you’d like to check out my posts with those, they can be found here and here.

We love comments!

