revisited travels: rabat (part i)

Rabat, the capital of Morocco, was our final stop during this segment of our trip.  This city’s fortresses, ruins, and mosques give some parts of Rabat a very ancient feel.  But the abundance of knock-off Sony and Apple products in their souks and the nightclubs that line some of their busy streets definitely made Rabat seem more Westernized.  From what I’ve seen of Rabat, and what I’ve heard about Casablanca, I’d recommend avoiding these bigger, Westernized cities, if you plan on visiting Morocco.  I think most of our group found Marrakesh to be much more interesting and a richer cultural experience.

All that being said, Rabat’s ruins and fortresses provided some great opportunities.  And in case you’re wondering, the reason why I’m going to be posting so many photos from Rabat and so few from Marrakesh is that majority of the Marrakesh photos had already been edited and posted years ago (and I’m definitely not going to go back and re-edit them).

On a more technical note, I realized that I shot all of my photos from this trip in the compressed JPEG format, which means that the dynamic range, their flexibility in editing, and their overall quality is significantly reduced.  If you’re serious about taking quality photos, you have lots of hard drive space, and you do a fair amount of editing with higher-end editing software (Aperture, Lightroom, Photoshop, etc.), then I highly recommend shooting in RAW format.  I’m sure I’ve said that before, but in light of these photos, it bears repeating.  But if you plan to take photos and post them straight to Facebook, then leave your camera in JPEG mode.

Thanks for visiting our blog!  Please follow to keep up with our latest posts!

We love comments!

