unMonday: revisited travels: ljubljana

I mentioned at the beginning of the year that I’ve been going through the digital piles of photos that have been lying unedited and unfinished on my various hard drives.  I have been particularly eager go through my travel photos, so I’ve decided to spend the next several posts featuring these long-overdue photos.  And because these photos were taken so long ago, I’m hoping that I’ll be able to see some growth in my skills as a photographer.  At the very least, these posts will be an interesting comparison between old styles and new styles, old gear and new gear, and old photos and the latest editing software and techniques.

In the past – before I owned Lightroom, much less knew how to properly use it – my editing process was pretty much to run every photo through an old version of Adobe Photoshop and individually edit each photo (I didn’t know how to use Adobe Bridge).  As you can imagine, this process was tediously slow, and it led to a lot of inconsistencies between each of the photos in a particular set.  On top of that, I didn’t know the proper thinking behind the photo selection process – I thought that more photos meant having a healthier photo set, which meant I was editing way more photos than was necessary.  So every time I traveled, the pile of photos grew more and more impossible to finish, until enough months had past that I eventually gave up on each of my travel albums.  Even after having Lightroom for a few years, I was using it in much the same way that I used Photoshop CS3, so it wasn’t until recently that I was able to drastically reduce my processing time and finally tackle the daunting task of finishing all of my abandoned travel albums.

The first set of photos in my revisited travels series is from Ljubljana, Slovenia, way back in January 2009.  My girlfriend (who now happens to be my wife) and I visited this beautiful, out-of-the-way town while she was studying abroad.  The frigid winter temperatures and post-New-Year’s hangovers kept a lot of the tourists and locals indoors, but it was still a wonderful town to visit, with well-preserved architecture, colorful art, guardian dragons, and a castle overlooking the entire city.  I would highly recommend visiting this often-overlooked city, and would love to return to see it again…just not when the highest temperature of the week is 19˚F.

These photos were taken with my first DSLR, the Canon Rebel XT, and my Canon 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 lens.  And if you want to compare the more recently edited photos with older edits, check out my Ljubljana Set on Flickr – the first seven photos are the older edits, while the last 10 photos are the more recent edits.

We love comments!

