unMonday: my trip to Mars

I missed unMonday last week, and I’ll be honest – I probably won’t be doing a lot of posts over the next few weeks. Things are busy around here, as we are planning and preparing to move. So, I thought I would go back through some of my older photos that I haven’t ever reviewed or edited. Two years ago, I traveled to Mars… naaaah – I went to Maui on an awesome vacation with my best friend. I had been there before, and was excited to bring my camera along and focus on photographing the island better than I had on my previous trip. (I tend to just vacation and not take photos, and then regret not having any images to remember it with). We visited the top of Haleakalā for sunset one day, and I was again impressed by how much the landscape made me think of Mars. The red rocks from the volcano look like something you would see on a NASA feed, and the silver plants add to the other-worldly feel.

This is one of my favorite types of plants ever… so cool. I found on wikipedia that they are Silversword, and are a threatened species.

We love comments!

