the minolta story

It’s been a while since I mentioned my Grandma was sending me a Minolta camera, and I think it’s time to update you on that story. She sent me a magnificent bag of lenses, flashes, filters, cleaning tools… pretty much the best photo package I’ve ever received! :) The camera body was a Minolta XG-1, and I was super excited to get it out and start shooting. For my test roll, I shot about 4 photos with every lens she had sent.

Sadly, only about 6 photos turned out from that roll of film. There is an issue with the shutter in that camera, and where I am right now, there aren’t any good camera repair shops where I could get it fixed. So – I turned to eBay. I found a Minolta SRT-201 for about $40 and decided, what the heck. That’s not too much money if I’m able to use all of these lenses! I was so happy to receive this little beast of a camera (it’s pretty heavy/sturdy), and even happier to see the results from my test roll. Here are a few of the shots.

I did take some photos with different lenses, but I found that my favorite is still the 50mm. For some reason it just feels right to shoot film through a 50mm lens. It’s nice to have a clearer viewfinder than the Canon AT-1 I bought at a pawn shop, but I think the actual picture quality may be a little better with the Canon. I can’t put my finger on what it is, but the Minolta produces photos that almost seem to have already aged. It’s an awesome look for the photos in this collection, but might not be so great for other settings.

Either camera has its pros and cons… I am just thrilled to have them! Hopefully I will be able to get my Grandma’s camera repaired when we move. The Minolta from eBay has its own issue, but I can work around it. The ring which follows the f-stop setting on the lens has lost its spring, and the light meter doesn’t track accurately unless I squeeze it tight and slooowly turn it along with the lens setting. As long as I’m not in a hurry and remember to do it, it’s fine. I also wish I would have researched a little further and realized that the Minolta I ordered does not have the split-focus feature, but only has a magnified focus center. Makes it a little difficult to be sure I am focusing accurately… all that said though, I can’t complain. I am enjoying playing with these old cameras, learning their quirks and make-up, and shooting film.

6 comments

  1. What an awesome kit to get from your grandma. Have fun with your film ^^

  2. Kelly Goddard

    I love the Army’s building picture! For some reason it reminds me of the movie Fried Green Tomatoes!Love that movie! Keep up the good work!

  3. I used to shoot with a Minolta. it was and is a great camera. Terrific shots.

We love comments!

