unMonday: ravenna park

Before I returned the rental Canon 70-200mm f/2.8L IS to Glazer’s (the same lens that I used for the Elijah Sussman concert), I took it for a spin on a short photo excursion to my neighborhood park.  A few thoughts came to mind after using this lens:

  1. I agree with most photographers who have reviewed this lens: It’s HEAVY – noticeably heavier than its more affordable sibling, the 70-200mm f/4.
  2. I’m still trying to figure out how to best utilize the zoom range of this lens.  The lens requires an approach to composition and perspective that is very different from the other lenses that I use.  A lot of the shots that I took were subject-less or awkwardly composed because I didn’t understand how far away from my subjects I should be.
  3. It’s too short to be effective for nature photography, but too long to be useful for any subject standing closer than five to six feet away from the photographer. It seems like this lens might useful for weddings, or any scenario in which you want close-up photos of medium-ranged subjects without interfering with them by standing too close.
  4. Sometimes you have to help the camera get a focus lock by manually focusing to the approximate distance of the subject before engaging the autofocus.  This might have something to do with the fact that I’m using the older Canon 5D, with its outdated focusing and processing technology.
  5. Large lenses seem to make people nervous.  Just ask the guy who threw rocks at me because he saw the lens pointed in his general direction.  I can’t remember who said it, but the phrase that comes to mind is, “Your creepiness level is directly proportional to the length of your lens.”
  6. Produces beautiful images with crisp focus and very pleasant bokeh.

2 comments

  1. these are beautiful, Kyle! love this lens….maybe some day I can buy it :)

We love comments!

