unMonday: baby shoot

This past week I have been busy processing photos from my first baby photo shoot. I’m going to post some of my favorites here (more on Flickr)… there were so many to choose from! I was actually surprised by how well it went. Since I haven’t done a real portrait shoot before, I was a little nervous and didn’t really know what to expect when it came to taking pics of a baby. But, when my fellow military wife asked if I was interested in doing some photos of her daughter, I was excited to give it a try! I dug through my things and found a couple of hats that I thought might be fun. I know, I know we don’t wear BDU’s anymore, but I still prefer them. And she loved the cowgirl hat – the string and stones attached were very interesting. :) The weather luckily decided to cooperate, and after a brief little shower, we had what I consider ideal light. Cloud-cover allowed me to shoot in bright light without too harsh of shadows messing with those cute face shots.

I love those eyelashes! So beautiful. And the shot below – I can’t look at that photo without smiling! She is so cute with her mischievous grin showing off her new teeth.

What a great experience! I’m so happy with how these came out, and she was such a great little model for me. I had always thought that photographing children would be difficult, but it was surprisingly easy and lots of fun! I realize every time out photographing is different, but I’m wondering if it might not be a direction I’d like to pursue a little more. We’ll see…

4 comments

We love comments!

