unMonday: louisiana “super moon”

There may not be that many easily accessible places to view an open expanse of sky around here, and I may not have a tripod to aid with the low light, but I gave my best effort to capture a few interesting shots of the “super moon” this weekend.

The mosquitos were swarming as I was snapping away, and I wondered if I might wake up with malaria the next day. I was also praying that no cotton mouth snakes were near by and coming to bite me. Luckily, the heat and mosquitos were the only things I had to battle. It has been incredibly humid – which you can see in the brightness and haze surrounding the moon. That, along with the graininess of my efforts at low-light images, create an effect I kind of like.

We love comments!

