stock photography?

I’m sitting at Chocolati in Seattle, working on photo stuff, of course.  And I’ve decided it’s time to finally bite the bullet and take a crack at stock photography.  While the goals of stock photography can be quite different from the goals of exploratory photography, which we’ve been demonstrating here on Photo Here Photo There, there are definitely some benefits to becoming successful in stock photography (i.e. making money, garnering more attention, practicing thematic photography…making money).  I’ve been talking for quite some time about doing this…so now that I’m taking my work more seriously, I guess now is as good a time as any to give it a shot.

I think I’m going to start with iStock for now, but I’m open to trying any stock service.  It’s difficult to tell which service would be best for me simply by reading the websites, and in-depth reviews on those services are hard to find.

Do any of you photographers out there have any good advice on stock photography?

One comment

  1. Hi Kyle, looks like we’re embarking on very similar journeys…. I’ve been having the same idea.
    Looking forward to see your progress..
    cheers
    Roman

We love comments!

