unMonday: cajun fest

This weekend was “Cajun Fest” here on base. I decided to head out with my camera and see if there was anything fun to catch, but I went a little late in the day and things were winding down. It was also over 80 degrees out, humid, and after one pass through the event, I was ready to get back to air conditioning! There wasn’t anything particularly cajun-y that I could see, so I decided to try and get comfortable pointing my camera at people (still feels weird to me).

I really like this first picture because it sums up the experience of living on an Army base. It’s an every-day occurrence to be surrounded by uniforms, MP’s in this case with their weapons, and have them all intermingling with civilians. When we first moved here, all the uniformed Joes would make me a little nervous – I wasn’t used to being surrounded my the military yet and it all felt so regimented and official… which it kind of is. However, I am so used to living among them now, I hardly notice all the boots and uniforms and badges walking around. This is my new normal.

The tow hook on this MRAP was pretty impressive to me. This vehicle is huge! Another image that doesn’t seem special and is pretty standard when you live on an Army base, but I thought it might be fun for those of you who are out in civilian land.

Many Army units had little tents set up with games for people to play. I’m not sure what the reason behind this is, or why there are military rubber duckies in a kiddie pool with no water… but it made me laugh to see this scene sitting in front of a bunch of grown soldiers.

Thanks to my friend’s little girl, I got to practice taking a few shots of babies! She was doing pretty good in all that heat; just taking in everything going on around us.

I loved this girl’s hair. She was waiting to get her face painted at one of the Army units’ tents.

Isn’t she cute?! She was a great little model for me! All of these shots were taken with my new 24-70mm L lens. I’m still getting used to it, but I think I’m starting to see a lot of potential – especially for portraits.

We love comments!

