an introduction to kyle

Welcome to our blog!  I’m excited for this experiment in collaboration and photography, and I’m hoping that Shera and I will both be learning and sharing with you a lot through this experience.  You can thank Shera for getting this blog off the ground.  She and I are the opposite when it comes to posting and shooting – I’m out shooting almost everyday, but I’ll be the one who needs a kick in the butt to stay committed to regularly posting.  I was already struggling with setting up my part of this blog.  Actually, that’s a pretty good example of how we plan on using this blog to help each other.

I received my first DSLR about six years ago as a college graduation gift from my parents (THANK YOU), and since then I’ve been consumed more and more by the world of shutter speed, the Rule of Thirds, bokeh, and the like.  Travel photography is definitely my fav.  I love how really good travel photography can transport me to another place, inspire my imagination, or evoke a memory.  It also combines a number of other photography genres that I find interesting – journalism, street, architecture, food, and landscape.  Over the past few years, I’ve been practicing these styles all over my hometown of Seattle and wherever I travel, exercising my eye for the photo and developing sound technique.  Below are a few of my favorites from relatively recent history…hopefully they give you a rough idea of my photographic style (not sure if I even have a “style” yet):

The Seine, Paris – Caught this photo as I crossed a bridge over the river, just before she walked out of range. Post-processing done in Photoshop CS3 with DxO Film Pack.

New York, New York – Sometimes you have to sit outside an interesting store front and wait for just the right person to walk out the door. Post-processing done in Lightroom 2.

Here’s what I’m shooting with these days:

  • Camera body: Canon 5D
  • Fav lens: Canon 50mm f/1.4
  • Newest family member: Canon 24-105mm f/4 L

Really looking forward to getting this blog going!  Thanks for checking us out, and stay tuned for exciting posts on photo assignments, compare/contrast, opinions, and of course lots of photos…and lots of other cool stuff we haven’t even thought of yet!  Feel free to comment, ask questions, connect with us on Flickr, etc.

One comment

  1. shera

    I LOVE that New York pic!

We love comments!

