an introduction to shera

Hello world! I thought I would give you a quick little introduction to myself and a couple of photos that I’ve taken, that are my all-time favorites so far. Firstly, my friend and I decided to start this blog to help us stay motivated to move forward with our photography. We live in different parts of the country, but have stayed close ever since college. I will be the one on here who needs a kick in the butt to get out there and TAKE photos. I enjoy setting up the blog and creating posts shouldn’t be too difficult… if I can only convince myself to pull out that camera and shoot! I’m really hoping this blog will help me gain some confidence and dedication to do that more and more. I have had my dSLR for almost 3 years now, and have taught myself to shoot it in “manual” mode ever since purchase. Which means, yes, I am incapable of taking a good picture with flash still! haha. Perhaps that is something I will learn along with the progression of this blog.

My camera: Canon Rebel XSi
My favorite lens so far: 85mm f/1.8 USM
My newest equipment: 24-70mm f/2.8 L

I also recently purchased a graduated filter, with the object of shooting some awesome sky/cloud pics. I haven’t had a chance to use it yet, but hopefully we’ll get some cool weather soon and I can get out there with it! Here are two pictures that I’ve taken that I have used repeatedly as desktop wallpaper, card covers, framed pics… they are just a couple of favorites and may give you a feel for my style of photos.

I spotted this lizard while walking through some tropical gardens in Maui – love the contrasting colors that happened to be in the shot!

A bit of a dreary morning walk in some light rain lead to finding this solitary lamppost in the middle of a German park… I absolutely love the creeping vines against the brick, and even the slight blow-out of the lamppost’s light box. I think it adds to feel of the photo.

On a personal note, I currently work from home for a company I started with in Seattle before I was married. My husband is in the Air Force, and we are looking forward to moving away from Louisiana to our next duty station in the next year. I love to travel, and really hope that we get stationed somewhere nearer an airport or some cool sights. I suppose I should try and capture a few shots of the swamp before we leave. Oh, and I will warn you right now, we have a cat and he is my go-to model for trying out new lenses or practicing… there may be a few pictures of him once in a while. :)

I hope you enjoy our endeavors with photography, and getting to know us along the way!

7 comments

  1. Candy Craddick

    Looking forward to your pictures…hope to see hubby once in a while as well as niner!

  2. Frode

    Hi Shera! Great to see your blog, looking forward to follow it in the future! Hope all are well! Frode

  3. great pictures! I love the one from the german Park ;-)
    I should know where it is…

We love comments!

